Windies skipper Stewart regrets controversial

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Print this page Email A Friend!

MOUNT MAUNGANUI, New Zealand (CMC) — West Indies Under-19 Captain Emmanuel Stewart says he regrets the appeal which led to the controversial dismissal of South African opener Jiveshan Pillay during yesterday's ICC Youth World Cup fixture here.

Following the contest at Bay Oval, which Young Windies lost by 76 runs, Stewart said while his decison has been within the laws of cricket, it did not reflect the spirit of the game.

“I asked the question and it was given out based on the laws and the rules of the game,” Stewart said.

“But, on reflection, it wasn't in the spirit of the game. I think moving forward I would have withdrawn the appeal and that's how I see it.”

The incident arose in the 17th over of the South Africa innings when the left-handed Pillay inside-edged a drive at fast bowler Jarion Hoyte and then watched cautiously as the ball rolled on the crease and came to a halt next to the stumps.

As has become customary in international cricket, Pillay picked up the ball and tossed it to Stewart who then, to the surprise of many, appealed for obstructing the field.

Following a consultation between the umpires, Pillay was then controversially given his marching orders.

Under Law 37.4 regarding 'returning the ball to a fielder', it states: “Either batsman is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and without the consent of a fielder, he uses his bat or any part of his person, including a hand not holding the bat, to return the ball to any fielder.”

Stewart's actions drew strong rebuke from current and former international players, but South Africa's head coach, Lawrence Mahatlane, refused to be drawn into the controversy.

“Our take is very simple. We play to the laws of the game, and it's part of the laws,” he said afterwards. “It's happened, so hopefully we'll learn for a long time from it.”

Captain Raynard van Tonder, however, disagreed with Stewart's actions.

“It is the law of the game, but I think there is something like the spirit of cricket. I think if I was in the same situation I don't think I would have gone about it the same way.”

The incident rekindled memories of the Mankad controversy during the last Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh two years ago when West Indies again came under heavy criticism for their actions on the field.

Then, bowler Keemo Paul ran out Richard Ngarava for backing up too far, to help the Caribbean side pull off a tense victory over Zimbabwe and reach the quarter-finals.

West Indies went on to win the tournament.

Yesterday, Pillay made a fluent 47, while wicketkeeper Wandile Makwetu top-scored with an unbeaten 99 to get South Africa up to 282 for eight off their 50 overs.

West Indies then collapsed to 206 all out in the 46th over, with Alick Athanaze top-scoring with 76.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon