Seaforth repeat as St Thomas Major League champions

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Picture Picture

Seaforth FC edged York FC 3-2 on penalties to retain their St Thomas Major League crown and earned their first lien on the trophy from new sponsor Serge in a tame contest at the York Complex on Sunday.

Both teams had battled to a 0-0 scoreline in regulation and extra time before they separated themselves by the dreaded penalty route.

Even as the game failed to live up to its billing, the off-field activities sparked the day as fans and officials soaked up the atmosphere of festivities.

Among the entertainment during the half-time break was a ball juggling competition and male and female shooting contest, which have become sideshows of the new Serge Major League. Participants, for their efforts, won baskets of goodies, which includes Serge's signature blend, peanut punch.

In attendance were Jamaica Football Federation President Michael Ricketts, St Catherine Football Association President Peter Reid, Portland boss Raymond Grant and representatives of lead sponsor Serge.

In the largely dull contest, Seaforth appeared hungrier but could not find the breakthrough, forcing the game into extra time and then to the penalty lottery.

Missing from the 12-yard spot for Seaforth were Enrique Gordon and Demar Roach, but Damian Stewart, Andre Louther and Jamal Bernard made no mistake.

For York, Kareem King and Deno Dixon were spot on, but their teammates Richard Allison, the experienced Charles Williams and Damian Chisholm were disappointing from the spot.

Seaforth walked away with $200,000, plus the inaugural Serge Major League trophy.

In the third-place play-off game, fans were in for a treat as Port Morant All-Star thumped Baptist Alliance 3-0 courtesy of goals from Donovan Williams (13th minute), Shamar Hamilton (17th) and Nicholas Edwards (88th).