JCF shake-up

Commissioner reassigns several senior cops

Friday, July 14, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

RECENTLY installed Commissioner of Police George Quallo has started to ring the changes of his senior officers and their respective responsibilities within the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

The Jamaica Observer understands that Commissioner Quallo made his final decision on placements after consultations with a wide cross-section of members within the officer corps.

Deputy Commissioner Selvin Hay, who was not long ago appointed to the second highest position in the force, will be moving from his post of second in command of the Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency (MOCA) to be the commander of the crime portfolio. Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Ealan Powell, who took over the crime portfolio following the retirement of Glenmore Hinds, moves to the Inspectorate of the Constabulary where he will join forces with newly appointed Deputy Commissioner of Police Wray Palmer.

Hay's position at MOCA is to be filled by ACP Millicent Sproul Thomas, who is currently at the Administrative Branch of the force, while ACP Richard Stewart, the constabulary's staff officer, is to replace Sproul Thomas.

Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Karina Powell-Hood will now sit in the position to be vacated by Stewart.

Police Area One, which includes the crime-stricken parishes of St James, Hanover, Westmoreland along with Trelawny, sees a change of leadership with ACP Donovan Graham from Police Area Three (St Elizabeth, Manchester and Clarendon) taking over from ACP Warren Clarke.

Graham is to be replaced by ACP Clifford Chambers, who previously was the commander in charge of the Counter Terrorism and Organised Crime (CTOC) branch, while Clarke is set to move on to the Criminal Investigation Branch (CIB).

CTOC will now be headed by ACP Fitz Bailey, who now holds the command of Police Area Two (St Mary, St Ann, Portland). With the departure of ACP Bailey, the commissioner has placed ACP Norman Heywood in the slot. ACP Heywood currently serves as the head of the National Police College, which also incorporates the Police Training School; he is to be replaced by SSP Yvonne Martin-Daley.

SSP Terrence Bent is to take over command of the Mobile Reserve while ACP Ronald Anderson, now at the Mobile Reserve, moves to Police Area Four (Kingston Western, Kingston Eastern, Kingston Central, St Andrew Central, and St Andrew South). Present commander of Police Area Four, Devon Watkis, is on study leave.

SSP Steve McGregor is now the officer in charge of the Community Safety and Security Branch. SSP McGregor is now part of the force's Territorial Operations Branch.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus

Flirting while in a relationship is disrespectful.
It depends


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon