Full Site

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Home | News | Sport | Entertainment | Business | Cartoon | Other Sections


Winners of Chess Open qualify for 2014 Chess Nationals

Sunday, October 13, 2013


THE 2013 Harold Chan Chess Open came to an exciting finish at the Hotel Four Seasons on Wednesday.

National Master (NM) Brandon Wilson clinched the tournament with a sparkling victory over the top seed CM Duane Rowe in the final round. Wilson finished with the perfect score of four points from four rounds.

Rowe — who traveled from Oman where he now resides, to attempt to qualify for the local 2014 nationals — fell short finishing on three points from four rounds.

Second place went to NM Russel Porter, who defeated WFM Deborah Richards in the final round to finish three-and-a-half points from four rounds. His only draw was against Horace Sinclair from Ardenne High.

Thirteen-year-old WCM Rachel Miller surprised the masses to finish third with three points from four rounds, defeating former champion NM Andrew Mellace, NM Daren Wisdom and international player Mario Marshall. She also won best female and junior.

The Harold Chan Chess Open was used as the first qualifier for the 2014 Jamaica National Championships, seeing the top three in the Open section selected to participate.

Brandon Wilson and Russel Porter qualified with higher points but there was a massive tie from third - eighth position on three points. The four top players were required to play a speed chess play-off to select the final qualifier.

After three rounds of play-offs, Deborah Richards emerged victorious and became the third qualifier for the 2014 National Championships.

The three qualifiers for the 2014 Women's National Chess Championships were WCM Rachel Miller, WFM Deborah Richards and WCM Margoe Williams.

The Intermediate Section, played separately, was won by Keijon Dennis from Glenmuir High with a perfect 6/6. Second went to Wayne March with five points and third went to Jonathan Pitterson of Wolmer's Boys.

Nathan Walsh won the Under-8 section, while Lontae Walker took the Under-10 and -12 categories. Under-14 was won by Arnold Fairclough and Jorie Japp took the best female in Intermediate.

The Amateur Section saw Diego Stewart topping the field with five points.

Sponsors of the event included Christar Villas, Hotel Four Seasons and The Jamaica Chess Federation.

SHARE THIS: Share to Facebook Share to Twitter

comments powered by Disqus

More news


Home | Lifestyle | Teenage | Regional | Environment | Editorial | Columns | Career | Food | All Woman | Letters | Auto | Video | Weather | Contact Us

Mobile | View Standard Version

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy

Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
twitter Follow us on Twitter!

Copyright © 2012 Jamaica Observer. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.