'Total' Control

BY RORY DALEY Observer writer daleyr@jamaicaobserver.com

Friday, August 03, 2012

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE Total Summerbell Racing (TSR) team stamped their names all over the one-day Independence of Speed meet held at the Dover Raceway in St Ann on Sunday.

The triad - David Summerbell Jr, Kyle Gregg, and Andre Anderson took home a combined 10 podium finishes, eight of which were outright victories and a lap record courtesy of Gregg. At day's end, Summerbell Jr and Gregg were joint meet champions with both on 34 points.

"This is great for TSR," said head honcho David Summerbell Jr. "We had a great day. By making some small changes, we hope to be better prepared for the international competition in Barbados. I just have to thank my new sponsor Victoria Mutual Building Society (VMBS) for having the faith in me to come on board."

With the meet reduced to one day, the various classes were combined. The motorcycle action kicked off the day's activities, with both the rookie and professionals in a single group. Andre Norman battled Adrian Blake to win all three A-class races, while Robert McDonald was the overall B-class champion.

In the Modified Production 1 class, Tarik Minott and the ATL-sponsored Natasha Chang collided during the formation lap, costing Chang her MP1 front-row starting position. She restarted at the back of the grid. She came second in her class while Minott took top honours.

Up front, Total Summerbell Racer Gregg gave Alan Chen little quarter. Chen's Starlet was the 'bridesmaid' when the chequered flag fell for MP2.

The second MP race saw Gregg again taking the top honours ahead of Chen.

Chang's early MP1 lead disappeared as Minott made an overtaking manoeuvre leaving her to deal with Patrick Gore. She fended him off to take second place.

"I'm not happy with the current gridding rules," said Minott after the race. "Previously, our start positions were determined by lap times. Now, even if I'm faster than the MP2 cars ahead of me, I still only start at the front of my class," he said.

For Modified Production class 3 and 4, it was the Summerbell Jr/Peter Rae show while Andre Anderson would take both MP3 wins. Summerbell's Evolution VIII set the pace while Rae suffered technical issues and was unable to challenge for the win in both MP4 races.

"It started with my tuner arriving into the country late. We worked all night to get things right, but arrived at the track tired only to have brake issues," said Rae.

The final MP4 third-place fight between Heath Causwell and George Bayley went the way of the latter.

The Bracket 38 (B38) race was a three-way tussle as Sheldon Morgan was able to hold off the more powerful Lancer Evolutions of Spencer Whittingham and Kirk Diaz. B45T and B45N was the domain of Don Thompson and Dwight Spence, respectively.

Sebastian Rae took the B32 race one while Troye Riley took race two. The B27 two races were won by Gary Williams and Bayley, respectively.

In the final combined Thundersport races, Summerbell was victorious in Thundersport 2 (TS2) while his teammate Gregg won TS1.






1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon